Open Burning/Burn Permit Regulations
How do I obtain a permit?
Permits can be obtained at the Lower Valley Fire Protection District, 168 North Mesa Street, Fruita, CO. 81521. Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.
From time to time a burning ban may be issues by either the State of Colorado or the county Fire Marshal, or District Fire Chief, as a result of unusually dry or high wind conditions. Any permit issued prior to the ban will be rescinded and considered null or void until otherwise lifting of the ban.
Standardized open burning guidelines for the Lower Valley Fire Protection District which will be followed for all burning requests and for assisting in decision making when we are called out for a response. We are governed by the Colorado Air Pollution Prevention and Control Act, CRS 1992, Section 25-7-128. This code along with the Mesa County Open Burning Regulations gives us the authority to regulate open burning in our district.
Spring Burning Season: March 1 through May 31
Fall Burning Season: September 1 through October 31
A burn permit is required for all open burning during the two (2) burn seasons. All open burning activity during such authorized seasonal periods must be confined to daily periods from two (2) hours after sunrise until two (2) hours before sunset. Under no circumstances shall open burning be allowed to continue during the night except for the non-commercial preparation of food for human consumption (cooking/campfires) and bonfires for ceremonial purposes.
Open burning that is exempt from the above two (2) burning seasons is:
- Agricultural open burning (having 20 acres or more), safety flares, bon fires, cooking/campfires, official emergencies or fire training exercises.
NOTE: ALL OPEN BURNING IS SUBJECT TO FIRE BANS ISSUED BY THE MESA COUNTY SHERRIF OR FEDERAL LAND MANAGEMENT AGENCIES.
Dry weeds, garden waste, and tree, shrub or brush trimmings less that one inch (1”) in diameter which constitute annual vegetative growth common to residential or commercial property. Bonfires and cooking/campfires are fires kindled with and utilizing only clean dry wood.
Agricultural Open Burning:
Any open burning activity conducted in the course of agricultural or commercial crop production, or cultivation, involving the open burning of cover vegetation for the purpose of preparing the soil, controlling weeds and maintaining irrigation and drainage ditches, water courses and fence lines. The burning of tree trimmings from orchards is considered to be agricultural open burning as long as they are less than one inch (1”) in diameter.
A bonfire is an outdoor fire used for ceremonial purposes as defined by the 2012 International Fire Code, Section 202. All bonfires require a no fee permit. The total fuel area must not be greater than 8 feet in diameter and 6 feet in height. Permitted bonfires must be at least 50 feet away from a structure, or combustible material at all times.
Prohibited Materials: Open burning is prohibited for materials including, but not limited to: residential household trash such as any flammable waste material, trash, garbage, rubbish, and wastepaper, cardboard, wood, fabric, leaf or grass clipping piles, wood residue (bark, sawdust, slabs, chops, shavings, mill trim and other by-products derived from wood processing operations) commercial and industrial waste, building construction and demolition waste, railroad ties, rubber, plastic, tires, waste petroleum and asphaltic compounds, asbestos containing material, insulation or similar dense or toxic smoke producing substances or other material not specifically listed under the section entitled
Requirements to Burn: Issuance of a written permit authorizing open burning activity is required prior to the open burning of allowed materials. All open burning activity must conform to the conditions set forth by the Lower Valley Fire Protection District in their burn permit.
The following regulation shall be followed:
- Have a water hose, fire extinguisher, source of water and shovel.
- Keep fire a minimum of 50 feet from structures or any viable infrastructures
- No burning when wind is excessive or after dark.
- It is your responsibility to evaluate- research- unsafe burning conditions. (Review Sources: Local News, NOAA website)
- All burning, less than 20 acres in the Lower Valley Fire District requires a permit.
- Burning is permitted only 2 hours after sunrise until 2 hours before sunset.
- Never overnight or after dark.
- The person responsible for the fire must be on site constantly to attend the fire.
- All outdoor fires must be continuously attended by adult until the fire is extinguished. Attended means direct visual contact.
- Sufficient water to control the fire must be present at the burn site at all times.
- The fire must be completely extinguished with water once the burning is complete
- Burying the fire or pile is not allowed.
Violations: Persons burning without a properly issued burn permit or outside of the two (2) burn seasons will be asked to extinguish the fire. This can be done by any authorized personnel of the Fire District. If this is not possible, the Lower Valley Fire Protection District will extinguish the fire for them. Any person who violates the conditions or prohibition contained within these guidelines may be subject to civil penalties as specified in CRS ss 25-7-128 and to potential criminal penalties.